Under Construction

 

 

Karim Gamal El Din

 

Born in Egypt, Karim Gamal El Din joins the American University, Cairo till 1984 where he majors in Psychology, Literature and Mass Communication.  In 1987, he graduates as a Bachelor of Mass Communication from Menlo College (Paolo Alto, California).

In 1988, he founds the company ORKA for Digital Special Effects, the first of its kind in the Middle East, then in 1990, the company ELIXIR for Film Production and Distribution.

In 1997, the company ELIXIR is the first to introduce off-line editing in Egyptian cinema. In the year 2000, ELIXIR expands by landing lease on the mythical Studio Misr, one of the first and largest film studios in Egypt, and the one that launched Egyptian film industry. Since then, the name was slightly transformed to become Studio Masr of which he is the CEO (Misr -or Masr as pronounced by Egyptians- meaning Egypt). But the real transformation of the studio lies in restored buildings, modernized equipment and new technologies introduced, notably at the level of editing and sound.

Karim is first of all a filmmaker; we owe him Hassan and Aziza: A State Security Case in 1999 that he produced as well.  We owe him also a number of documentaries including The Inauguration of Cairo Arts Palace and The Inauguration of Nubia Museum in Aswan.

A cinema passionate by all means, Karim Gamal El Din is a filmmaker, a producer, a foreman and a studio manager – all essential for a film to exist – he doesn’t hesitate to borrow whichever hat is needed for films to be made.

As a producer, we owe him El-Banate Dol (These Girls) by Tahani Rached in 2006, Ehna Etkabelna Qabl Kedah (Have We Met Before) by Hisham El Shafei in 2008, and his latest production is Giran (Neighbors) by Tahani Rached (2009).

 

 

 

     
 
Home - Contacts

Sous Construction

 

 

Karim Gamal El Dine

 

Né en Égypte, Karim Gamal El Dine fait des études de Psychologie, Littérature et Communications de Masses à l’Université Américaine du Caire. En 1987, il est diplômé en Communication de Masses du Menlo College (Paolo Alto, Californie).

Il fonde en 1988 la société ORKA - Effets Spéciaux Numériques - une première au Moyen-Orient, puis en 1990 la société ELIXIR de Production et de Distribution.

En 1997, la Société ELIXIR est la première société de services à introduire en Égypte un système de montage virtuel pour le cinéma.  En l’an 2000, Karim Gamal El Dine reprend sous bail les mythiques Studios Misr, qui ont compté parmi les premiers et plus grands studios de cinéma en Égypte et qui ont marqué le début de l’industrie cinématographique égyptienne.  Depuis, le nom s’est légèrement transformé pour devenir Studio Masr dont il est le PDG (Misr -ou Masr comme le prononcent les égyptiens- voulant dire Égypte). Mais la vraie transformation des studios se retrouve dans la réfection des bâtiments, la modernisation des équipements et l’introduction de technologies nouvelles, notamment au niveau du montage et du son.

Karim est d’abord un cinéaste ; on lui doit Hassan et Aziza: Affaire de Sécurité d’État en 1999 dont il a également été le producteur, et aussi des documentaires dont, l’Inauguration du Palais des Arts du Caire et l’Inauguration du Musée de la Nubie à Assouan.

Passionné du cinéma dans tous les sens du terme, Karim Gamal El Dine est tout à la fois réalisateur, producteur, chef de chantier et directeur de studio - tout ce qui est essentiel pour qu’un film existe - il n’hésite pas à emprunter la casquette qu’il faut pour que les films se fassent.

Comme producteur, son tout dernier film est El-Banate Dol (Ces Filles-Là) de Tahani Rached.

 

 

 

     
 
Home - Contacts